The Good in the Daily

Today I was reading one of my favorite blogs, and I found myself realizing how much I have been looking for the next thing to take me away. Lately, I have been pining for the future, unsatisfied with the present, and wanting circumstances to change. My apartment is too small, my bills are too big, and there is a puppy I want but can’t get. Unfair. But really, all of these things are not the problem. Only I am the problem. I am in control of how I view and take charge of my circumstances. I can enjoy the small things that are what truly make me happy—car talks with Michael, the beautiful weather I am almost always surrounded by, the wonderful friends I have (even though a few of them will be leaving very soon), the blessing that is my coworkers and boss (has anyone ever had a boss like mine? I highly doubt it. He is the best). I have so many blessings. I mean, some friends took Michael and I to Disneyland for FREE on Sunday. I worked part of the day, but the rest of it was spent blissfully enjoying some real magic. 

All of this is to say that there are a million little things that make me happy every day, and if I choose to dwell on those, rather than on the things that aren’t right, then I can form my own groove in this little corner of LA county. I can enjoy that I slept in until 10:00 am, that I am going to go to a wine tasting with a dear friend, that I have a mind-blowingly amazing partner in life, that both of my best friends are (or will be) moms, and that I just made some pretty damn good coffee in my pajamas. I have it good. 

And I will tell myself all of this again tomorrow, when I forget. 

Leave a Reply

