New Habits

I’m not sure why some people dislike making New Years’ resolutions. Maybe we all have a bit of perfectionism in us, and can’t bear the failure we deem inevitable. Or maybe it just seems like a waste of time. But I appreciate the opportunity for a new start. Since I fail all the time, I’m constantly in search of a fresh beginning, and a new year is just the perfectly timed event I need.

I’ve never been the type to make strict resolutions with quantities and qualifiers (will run 3 days a week! will only eat meat once a week!). I don’t work well with such strict guidelines; I am a much more fluid, self-forgiving person (even if I forgive myself a little too easily). I prefer to make a list of general changes, phrased positively about things I want to do more of, rather than things I need to cut back on.

This year, Michael and I wrote down a list of all the things we wish we did more, or healthy habits we wanted to include in our lives this year, and then my crafty husband made miniature signs for us to write down our top 12. I plan to display my list over my nightstand, because if I don’t have it in front of me every day, I WILL forget them, however much I want to remember.

Here is my list of resolutions for 2014- Happy New Year!

1. Practice piano
2. Do yoga
3. Study French more consistently
4. Extend hospitality {have people over more often}
5. Write daily {but not necessarily publish}
6. Read a book a week
7. Seek out creativity
8. Intentionally listen {to a new album, to a friend, to how my husband’s day was}
9. Pause the impulse {this is to help me be more mindful about my purchases, but applies in other areas, too}
10. Go for walks
11. Learn to appreciate mornings
12. Write more letters to my grandma & pen-pals

 

What healthy habits do you want to include this year? I’d love to share in them with you.

2 thoughts on “New Habits

  1. The new year will now always bring a strong sense of newness – if an unchosen and melancholy sense – and so I’ve found myself marking goals as well. Some of the most important are

    Getting to bed earlier so as to rise earlier
    Perform the Daily Office with more regularity
    Keep up on my languages
    Finish some long-unfinished home projects
    Reading and writing poetry with increased frequency

    1. I’ve been trying to do the Daily Office more as well, and I’ve really been enjoying it. And the mornings feel so elusive, but I agree- I really want to learn to appreciate them. Thanks for sharing your list, Tony. It’s always good to hear from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

