A Meaningful Weekend

IMG_3663

 

 

This past weekend was sorely needed. The month of May has been packed full of events, both personal and work-related, and Michael and I were both looking forward to three days off. Michael did some writing for a class he’s auditing, and I read two books (this one, lent to me by a friend, and this one).  We’ve also been giving ourselves a movie history lesson, and have been watching a bunch of classic, well-loved films; Howl’s Moving Castle and Casablanca were this week’s hits. We’ve also really been enjoying watching the PBS show “The Mind of a Chef.” It’s super fascinating and inspiring to see the process behind that kind of creativity, and I love hearing about how certain foods like miso or ramen have such a rich, deep history behind them. I even roped Michael into watching the episodes on Southern food, and he loved them. I’d highly recommend it!

 

It felt so good to have no plans, no commitments, and no requirements this weekend. I’ve started this week feeling rested and inspired. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt either of those things! My mind was finally given space to dream for myself, and being given that space, I realize just how much I was missing it. I’d really like to be more intentional about where I put my time and energy- towards rest, meaningful hobbies, and people who matter most in my life. I’m already looking forward to it.

One thought on “A Meaningful Weekend

  1. I remember watching howls moving castle years ago, and all I remember was that it had amazing animation and nothing else. I should give it another try. If it’s on Netflix I’ll watch it.

Leave a Reply

